Posted in DIY

Kumari, The Melancholy Plushy

“Melancholy is the pleasure of being sad.” ~Victor Hugo

d

RPENN_expressyourself-ribbon4

Well, time goes really fast, indeed.. I had mentioned in every post that time goes really fast and yeah it’s already July 2014.. Unfortunately my July welcomed by the health that dropped slightly.. Got fever in fasting month was not a good idea.. Huhu.. Anyway, who says it’s a good idea?!!  :p

This fever made my weekend passed by doing nothing in the home sweet home..  Looking at the good side, actually this is what I have waited for couple of weeks.. Me time!!! Although it was not as good as my thought since this sickness came in the wrong time..

Let’s just forget this fever because I wanted to show you about recycle the old tee into beautiful plushy..

 q

Well, first time seeing this tee, I couldn’t afford not to buy it.. Since then, it was one of my fave tees.. Wore this to hang out with friends very often like didn’t have any other tees.. Haha.. It had accompany me passed these 4 years make it looked so dull and exhausted.. It even turned as pajamas lately.. Hmm Yes, I thought “It’s time for your retirement, tee!” huhu.. But, I couldn’t put this tee away.. So, I decided to recycle it into something pretty.. Interesting? Let’s see what I’m gonna do..

RPENN_expressyourself-ribbon4

So, here the materials :

♥ old tee

♥ pins, needle and thread

♥ cotton fabric

♥ ribbon

♥ stuffing

b

How to do???? Just follow the pictures here :

c

As always, ironing the fabric first.. It would make the fabric sleeker and easier to sew..

d

After ironing, I cut the doll pattern in my old tee.. Don’t forget not to cut the pattern too close because we have to give some space for sewing later.. I leave around 1-1,5 cm, then..

e

Now, attach the doll pattern to cotton fabric.. Attach it exactly in the same position as I did in the picture.. I mean, the right side were facing each other.. After that, attach the pins along the pattern to secure it..

f

Cut the cotton fabric following the doll pattern.. Alright, now we have the pattern with its right side facing each other and the pins around the pattern.. Let’s move to sewing machine.. 🙂

g

Tips : before sewing, you can draw a line as a sign for you to sew.. Actually I forgot to draw a line here, so I just follow the pins to sew it..  :p

hi

This was where my ribbon being attach.. Anyway this is optional.. As usual, I like to attach the ribbon to my all plushy as a “brand tag”.. Just to mark my plushy, anyway.. hihi

Well, don’t be so “into it” with your sewing machine.. hehe.. Remember to put some space to reverse the pattern to the right side.. So, stop sewing and give 10-cm-space.. Now we’re done with the sewing machine..  ♥

j

k

Before reversing the pattern, cut the pattern upright to the sewing line.. It would look like big fringes along the pattern.. Why did this? Good question.. Previously, I reverse the pattern to the right side but then the pattern looked so full and messy in the edge part.. Then, I did this, big fringe.. The result when I reverse the pattern was better and more presentable.. 🙂

l

Last but not least was stuffing my plushy.. Somehow, this part was the most tricky part.. Make sure to fulfill all the patterns with the stuffing was a longtime job for me.. Huhu.. Anyone has the same difficulty?

m

Finally, did the ladder/blind stitch for closing the opened part of the plushy.. And doneee yeah!!

a

Yes, I’ve named this plushy Kumari.. What is Kumari? Kumari in Sanskrit (Sansekerta) means girl or daughter.. I think it’s pretty name and suitable for my new plushy.. Kumari, the melancholy plushy.. Because her views is just soooo melancholic.. Beware! You can get crush with her.. Big eyes and little smile would make you couldn’t sleep 3 nights in a row.. hihi

n

It was already 2 hours went by .. What? Just needed 2 hours to forget my fever and recycle something.. Hopefully later, it would come another recycle idea because this fever wouldn’t go yet before I got busy with something huhu.. Anyway, really excited to have some fun with Kumari.. I hope she didn’t mind accompany this ill person hihi..

o

So this is it, guys.. Thank you for reading my post.. Hope my post will inspire you to make another Kumari.. Share yours, I’d love to see them too.. I would be so glad to meet you again in the next post.. Bye byee

RPENN_expressyourself-ribbon4

“I’m an environmentalist; I recycle.”~Kyrsten Sinema

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

Leave a comment