Posted in Travelling

Experiencing Mount Bromo , Brrrr…

Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books ~John Lubbock

 

g

 

 

Hello!!

As my promise in previous post, now I would like to tell you about my vacation (still) at East Java-Indonesia.. This vacation gave me lot experiences, beautiful views even shocking adventure which I would like to describe it as a “main course” in my 3-days holiday.. Bromo, is 2,329 meters high and one of the active volcanoes which have erupted three times in past ten years .. Behind its ferocity, Bromo have its beauty and charisma ..

Honestly, I prefer going to the beach to spend my spare time, but this year I and friends chose mountainous as the holiday destination.. Due to our convenience, Mount Bromo was chosen !!

 

DSC_0701

Mount Bromo sits in the middle of a vast plain called the “Sea of Sand” (Javanese: Segara Wedi or Indonesian: Lautan Pasir), a protected nature reserve since 1919. You can read more here

October 13th, 2013 01.00 AM

One hour pass mid nite , Sunday early morning ..

We were picked up by our travel agent’s car in some random hotel in Malang heading to Mount Bromo to see a sunrise.. We were so tired .. It was seen when we didn’t need too much time to continue sleeping after got a nice position in the car.. I couldn’t sleep well, just because I have never sleep well in the car (indeed) .. But, that night in that car, I must .. I had to sleep to recharge my energy..

Two hours later, we arrived in Mount Bromo area .. Our car pulled over and we suddenly woke up..  Our driver ordered a jeep for us.. Apparently, we still had to continue our journey to much higher place in Bromo area by jeep to see a sunrise .. Arrived at sunrise seeing place, cold air suddenly stroke us although we already wore a thick sweater.. I definitely trembled, my pants couldn’t avoid the cold air beneath my legs T_T I whispered to some friends that I couldn’t hike anymore.. I was totally shivering .. But somehow, I still continued .. -___-

Thankfully, we finally arrived in the spot to see a sunrise.. It was still dawn (04.00 am) , tick tock tick tock we waited for the sun rise (I was so excited then I forgot about the shivering experience previously, lol).. Slowly and beautifully, our sky became reddish followed by sun appearance in east horizon.. Aaaa, people shout one to one another , told sun was already rise .. In the middle of that crowd, I pray.. Pray for a prosperity .. 🙂

 

e

This was my first experience to see such beautiful sunrise in the high place with lot people around.. I got a goosebump !! All the exhausted feeling was gone and paid off by these God’s masterpiece..  Just realize a beautiful scenery slowly appeared in front of me, exposed by sun light , greeted by morning dew.. Hello Mount Bromo!! Cheerio Mount Batok!! Bonjour Mount Semeru !!

 

P1060625

DSC_0650

I took this picture by myself.. The result  was really awesome, right? This was not because of  professional camera or any best techniques.. It was simply due to its scenery which is really remarkable and magnificent ..

I’m so blessed , I’m so proud

to set foot in this place

07.30 AM

a

After seeing a sunrise, we continued our trip to Teletubbies Hill by jeep.. Teletubbies Hill?! Sounds interesting and cute, huh?! Yes. Teletubbies live here in Indonesia (lol).. No no, actually there are hills that almost look the same as Teletubbies land as we watch in its serials.. Unfortunately, at time we came there the grass were yellowed and a lil’ bit arid because it still on dry season period .. So, the scenery was kind of a Teletubbies land that has not been raining for a looong time, hahaha..

(wondering, how come the atmosphere was very cold even in dry season ?!!)

 

DSC_0719

hordes of jeep, very kewl ♥

DSC_0734

Pledge of friendship was made and witnessed by line of hills ♥

b

Posed in front of jeep ( Somehow, this pic must be really suitable for 70’s cassettes cover album, haha)

 

08.00 AM

On our way to Bromo Crater , which was be our last destination in Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park, we stopped by in area which have high mounds of sand, named “Pasir Berbisik” (Pasir Berbisik means Whispered Sand in english) .. Pasir Berbisik , as the wind blows on these mounds of sand, it sounds like someone is whispering .. ssshh ssshhhh… This is why it called so, Pasir Berbisik ..

 

DSC_0745

The mounds of sand can reach 10 meters and more of its height.. Uniquely, this area will always change .. The mounds of sand today become different mounds on tomorrow .. The sand always moving with the wind, forming new mounds.. . . ♥

 

c

08.30 AM

Finally, we arrived in Mount Bromo.. From the jeep parking area, we had to walk about 1 hour to reach the foothills of Mount Bromo and then climbed for almost 250 stairs to see its crater closer.. Due to weariness, we rent some horses for idr 75.000 each (round trip) to take us to the foothills .. So we can saved our energy for climbing the stairs later.. 😀

 

DSC_0776

DSC_0781

This photo was taken when I arrived in the second resting point of Mount Bromo.. As you can see, the distance from the starting point to the foothills was quite far, yet we have to take stairs too .. Hmmm, I think those horses were really helpful .. Besides we could save energy, we also saved time.. (Moreover, I got thrill when I rode that horse since it was my first time in touch with horse :p *excited and scared in the same time, haha)

Honestly, the stairs were sooo challenging .. Felt like both my leg couldn’t hold any longer .. How many stairs I have to climb ?!! Groan within.. Sigh Sigh

But, wait !! I didn’t give up .. Clenched hand .. 😀

(Drum back sound and heart beating  accompany my step) Finally I touched down the top of those stairs.. Mount Bromo and its mystery beauty welcomed me with this scenery … .

DSC_0780

DSC_0805

Mount Bromo is an active volcano.. It is marked by the emergence of sulfur fumes as you can see in the picture above .. So great for experiencing this and standing in the place where I only could see it in TV before.. But now I’m here !! Yeayyyy…

♥♥

Well, I recommend you to visit Mount Bromo, because in my opinion this is one of must-visit places before you dead .. hahaha..You will get adventure there!! I swear.. Hoaah, my holiday was ended already.. I’m getting more realize that I have to explore my country, Indonesia, first before go overseas since my country apparently have many “heaven on earth” .. Lampung with beautiful beaches you can read here , Yogyakarta with its truly friendliness and culture which is again you can read in 3 parts here, here2 , here3.. Hehe, thanks anyway for stopped by 🙂

 

Last words, many thanks for my friends who let this holiday be more fun and unforgettable .. Love and smooch !!

f

P1060706

 

Celebrate the happiness that friends are always giving, make every day a holiday and celebrate just living! ~Amanda Bradley

 

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

 

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

6 thoughts on “Experiencing Mount Bromo , Brrrr…

Leave a Reply

