Posted in DIY

Recycle a Container (DIY♥)

We can help educate our families and communities about the importance of recycling for our environment, and how each of us can make a difference for a better world by recycling. ~Robert Alan Silverstein

a

Hello!!

Last week I bought some wicker boxes for my sewing thingy and last Saturday I immediately organized those things.. In the middle of tidying, I found some scraps from leftover fabric and decided to make something by using them as materials.. After finished with those tidying things, I went to kitchen.. I “messed up” the kitchen cabinets and tried to find something which could be recycled.. My mom usually collect some used syrup bottles, plastic cups and old newspapers then give all of them to junkman.. Hmmm Bang bang!! There, I found some ex-yoghurt cups and just grabbed them to be my next “victim” for my little DIY project .. Huhuaahahaha *devil’s laugh

The materials are readily available, as well as easy to be made, no need to sew .. Just cut and paste 🙂 Even toddler could do it (but of course under parental supervision,huh?!) hehe..

 

Here the tools and materials :

2013-10-05-08-35-27

♥ scissors & glue

♥ leftover fabrics which I previously used for inner cushion, the fabric was quite thick and rigid (almost similar to denim material) so it easily formed and attached

♥ ex-yoghurt cup

 

First step, you have to measure the cup (width and length) .. I didn’t use a ruler for measure this, just estimate and use my instinct :p Cut the fabric following its length and width , done..

2013-10-05-08-38-42 2013-10-05-08-49-59

 

Next, apply the glue to entire cup’s surface and start to paste the fabric .. Slowly cover around the cup, make sure to do it presentable ..

2013-10-05-08-46-11 2013-10-05-08-49-08

 

Third, smoothed the bottom part .. Prepare an O-pattern for covering the bottom of cup, attach .. done ..

2013-10-05-08-56-54 2013-10-05-09-01-18

 

Then, move to the inside part of cup.. Smoothed the remain fabric, prepare a bigger O-pattern to cover the inside part, attach ..

2013-10-05-09-01-44 2013-10-05-09-19-00 2013-10-05-09-22-44

 

I purposely did not smoothed the edge of fabric to make it look rough and fringed.. 😀 Anyway you can add beads or other ornaments to make your container prettier ..

 

Voila, I succeed in recycling the cup of yoghurt into good looking and useful container.. Double combo for utilizing ex-yoghurt cup and fabric scrap!! Let’s make rubbish for embellish 🙂

2013-10-05-09-25-262013-10-05-09-25-58 2013-10-05-09-25-39  2013-10-05-09-25-05

I put buttons and ribbon here.. Really love how these things are organized , makes me so excited to make another one with another scrap of course.. I hope you like my recycling container and make yours ..

b

 

 

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

Leave a Reply

