Posted in DIY

DIY Simple Book Cover ♥

“ “Think simple” as my old master used to say – meaning reduce the whole of its parts into the simplest terms, getting back to first principles.” ~ Frank Lloyd Wright

easy sewing project

Hello! Hello! Hello!

After my easy tote bag project last week, now I would like to share another easy DIY project .. This DIY is related to a plain notebook that I got from some random bank as a freebies .. This was a for-fun-project since I didn’t have any activities last Sunday at home (actually, this is my desire not to do anything, hehe) .. But, the sewing machine just called me again and again, such a sweet temptation it requested me to say hello 😀 SOoo.. I decided to say hello for a moment to my dearest sewing machine.. Therefore I made an easy book cover from remaining fabric..

a

I will show you an amateur technique.. It don’t need any special pattern, just a rectangular fabrics, cut and fit to your book.. Hehe..  Still and all, the result is quite neat and good .. Let’s do it..

All you have to prepare are this items :

♥ a book (of course!)

2013-09-22-10-36-16

♥ cotton fabrics, please prepare enough fabrics.. They depend on your book size..

♥ pins

♥ needle and thread (you can do by hand-stitched, mine using sewing machine for matter of time :9 )

♥ patterned-ribbon for “sweetener” ( btw, you can use buttons, beads etc to prettify the cover)

♥♥♥

Okay, have you prepare? Then let us start ( Hope these pictures quite explained 🙂 )

First, I measure the book.. The size is 35 cm x 21 cm .. I prepare 49 cm x 29 cm of fabrics .. I spare each side (right and left) about 7 cm .. For the top and bottom side, I spare about 4 cm..

2013-09-22-10-35-32

Now, put aside the book and focus on the fabric.. Why do I spare lot space ? This is the reason, well, I have to hide the rough part of fabric by fold it inside and then sew along all sides.. By now, you will have “smoother” fabrics 🙂

2013-09-22-11-05-00

2013-09-22-11-20-05

2013-09-22-11-23-59

After that, I put again my book above the fabric.. All I have to do is fold the fabric until it suit to my book.. I fold the top and bottom side of fabric first, then left and right side.. Don’t forget to put some pins, so the fold will stick together..

2013-09-22-11-59-04

I put a small piece of ribbon in the bottom side, it is kind of a cute brand tag for my handmade book cover.. Well, it’s optional.. (As you know, I did it for my DIY tote bag too.. You can see it here )

2013-09-22-11-59-40

At last, I sew along  the top and bottom side from the fabric..

2013-09-22-12-22-53

Voila.. My book cover is finished !! Well, it just a plain book cover.. But you can put buttons and beads in the front of your book cover to make it prettier.. Happy sewing 🙂

2013-09-22-12-22-23

All things are difficult before they are easy. ~Thomas Fuller

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

Leave a Reply

