Posted in DIY

DIY Calico Tote Bag ♥

I love to hand sew. I sometimes make clothing for my children, which of course they grow out of in a matter of minutes. I thoroughly love it. ~ Edie Falco

easy sewing project

Hello again..

It’s been 2 weeks I didn’t start a new post ..Yes (too bad) I didn’t have any ideas to write since I was busy at office and some activities outside even on weekend .. Whoah I miss my home too much 😦

Lucky me, last Saturday I had “me time” after met up with my friends .. I could go to salon to cut my long-neglected wavy hair 😀 .. I decided to shorten my hair, but the result was not so good since my hair seemed like a balloon lol.. Anyway, I hope this balloon will look nice as the hair grow longer later 🙂 .. Besides I went to salon, I also had fun with my precious treasure, my lovely baby and my …. (fill in with other cute nicknames, hehe) .. Yeaah finally I had my pleasure time with my sewing machine.. Although it was night already, my time with it continued and should not be disturbed 🙂

Actually, I intend to make my own tote bag since long day ago but sadly it never done.. Sometimes laziness attacks, moreover don’t have enough time .. But finally, I fight against those laziness monsters (haha) and spare enough time, and guess what?! Last Saturday I did it, I made it .. Super simple bag made from calico fabric, super easy and super saving .. hehe.. what a zupa bag !! (dramatic drum back sound*)

calico bag

Well, I followed the tutorials of making tote bag from this blog Megan Nielsen Blog .. I adore her blog so much, she gave easiest steps in each picture (yes, it perfectly explained in picture instead of text).. Then, I just printed the tutorial and started to make my own tote bag.. I modified the size of my bag since the size in this tutorials was too big for me.. And then, I used calico fabric as the material.. It was robust and cheap.. I bought it only 18.000 rupiahs ($1,8) for 1 m x 2 m size.. (Well, I could have 3 tote bags from that fabric, wow :p ) But, you can make from other fabrics too such as canvas and cotton.. Use leather as the material might be nice too..♥

DSC_0416

DSC_0418

First, I cut calico bag as same as the pattern from the tutorials.. Anyway, the width still 17 inch.. I just shorten the length into 14 inch, instead 19 inch.. Sew along the pattern and I added particular “sweetener” for my bag.. It was a simple floral patterned-ribbon.. I attached and sew the 2 inch -ribbon in the right side, and it would look like a brand tag .. Last step is making straps for the bag.. According to Megan Nielsen Blog , I need 30 x 3 for thin straps or 30 x 4,5 for thicker straps.. I made thin straps with a little modification, again I shorten the length into 20 inch because 30 inch was too long for my bag ..

DSC_0462  DSC_0466

DSC_0468

DSC_0469

Voila, my bag is finished already.. Handmade tote bag from calico fabric is my easy sewing project.. I am a beginner for sewing thingy, but I finished this bag only for 3 hours (include draw patterns, cut the fabric, had a dinner, chit chat with mom and sew the whole patterns into bag) haha..

DSC_0477   DSC_0480

Look, Arimbi* (my bunny) seems happy with my tote bag .. She posed in front of camera showing it off .. She just bought 2 pairs shoes and brought my handmade tote bag to carry her shopping goods, hahaha.. Well, you can make it as your shopping bag too like Arimbi did.. :p

*Arimbi my DIY long legs bunny, you can read about her in my previous story here 🙂

DSC_0481    DSC_0487

This handmade tote bag also good for a gift to your friends, just tied it with ribbon to make it more special .. ♥

DSC_0472

Hugh jackman, once said, “For me that’s one of the great indulgences in life, a hand-tailored suit, and a great pair of handmade shoes.” Yes, I totally agree with him..  I’m beginner but loved to learn lots and make myself a handmade thing.. Handmade thing always looks special, though not every handmade thing is good looking right?! Hehe.. Therefore, I hope you like my handmade tote bag even though it doesn’t look so special and professionally made..

Again, you can see the complete tutorials here in Megan Nielsen Blog .. I think I would like to make another calico tote bag and dip dye it with nice colors .. Wait for it .. See you next !! ♥

I had to learn to sew when I was growing up, because nothing else fitted me. ~ L’Wren Scott

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

7 thoughts on “DIY Calico Tote Bag ♥

      1. dulu pernah beli kiloan di PD Hasan Bogor, tapi kualitasnya kurang oke.. lebih suka kain batik juga, biasanya sk borong di Jogja kalo lagi liburan ksana.. hehehe, km lokasi dimana? katanya mayestik oke2 lho.. tapi blm pnah coba liat..

        Like

Leave a Reply

