Posted in Shopping Spree, Thoughts and Sense, Travelling

Shopping Experiences at Yogyakarta-Indonesia

Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping ~ Bo Derek

a

Hello.. Thanks for stopping by in my blog.. Now I have lot stories about my latest vacation to Yogyakarta-Indonesia.. As you know, I had tell you my plan about going to Yogyakarta to celebrate the Eid’s Day.. Yes, gather around with my mom’s relatives and give angpau for kids, and finally led you to my DIY Printed Envelope (you can read it in Cute Envelope  ) Anyway, the Eid’s day celebration went smooth and great.. Kids loved my Angpau too, hehe..

Okay, enough with my family gathering and now I will tell you about the city, “a never ending story” city (people said that), called Yogyakarta (later it will be mentioned as “Jogja”) .. Jogja, hmm maybe 100 posts about this city will never enough to describe this city, I mean lot of things here are interesting.. Its culture, food, history.. Its people, education et cetera.. How lucky people who live here because I am among those who often visit Jogja and never get boring to come back again and again.. If only I stay there, hehe..

Well, now I will share another interesting part from Jogja which will make most of the woman drool .. YES, SHOPPING !! (*wipe your mouth, lads! hehe).. There is a cool place for spending your money, totally worthy and nice !! First I will let you know that in Jogja, there’s a shopping avenue called Malioboro, this is a long road about +/- 1 kilometers (cmiiw) which provides many  street hawkers and stores.. They sell clothes, bag, Batik* and things that characterize Jogja itself.. They almost fulfilled along the Malioboro street.. You won’t run out of shopping choices !!

* Batik is a cloth that is traditionally made using a manual wax-resist dyeing technique. UNESCO designated Indonesian batik as a Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity on October 2, 2009. As part of the acknowledgment, UNESCO insisted that Indonesia preserve their heritage. (Wikipedia)

smile

I entered Malioboro Street and welcomed by this sign ” Anda Memasuki Kawasan Senyum Yogyakarta”.. Hehe, I was already smile by seeing this sign.. Across this sign, there was a batik shop called “Terang Bulan”.. This shop is one of my fave place for buying batik.. I can feel the vintage vibe whenever I come here.. Since its owner always been maintaining the shop as it established in 1942..The atmosphere is soo old school, even I can smell something old, maybe the old furnitures, hehe..  I feel that is the interesting part of this shop.. Besides, sometimes the collections are so unique, which is you can’t find in the entire Malioboro :p.. And the most important of all is the price range are quite cheap.. Hehe..

a

c

Entering Terang Bulan Shop .. There are so many batik collection here : clothes, bed covers, fabrics, scarfs .. Even though there’s no air conditioner here, the shop still comfortable for buyers.. All things here are organized.. Batik fabrics are folded and arranged neatly in the right side of this shop.. Bed covers, runners and table clothes are displayed in the middle.. Then, women and men’s clothes in the left area.. Some bags are displayed too above the clothes racks..

b

♥ Batik Fabric ♥

Batik fabric is divided into 2 types, the hand-drawn batik and stamped batik.. The hand-drawn must be more expensive because this type of batik is more exclusive and difficult, it also need longer time to make.. Terang Bulan Shop not only sells Jogja’s Batik, it also sells Cirebonan and Sogan Batik (Fyi : Batik has a typical pattern based on its origin, for example Cirebon (another city in Indonesia) which has typical pattern like birds and floral, and usually more colorful.. Then Solo (city near Jogja), its Batik usually dominate by black and brown color, therefore it called Sogan)

Range Price of Batik Fabric

Rp.70.000 – Rp. 2.500.000 // $7 – $250

batik

♥ Clothes, Scarfs and Bags ♥

Terang Bulan Shop sells many clothes, such as dress, blouse, skirts and cardigans.. All of them are made from Batik.. Its collection quite fashionable.. Certainly, Batik now are made so fashionable, so the consumer can wear them without feeling so traditional and old school.. There are batik scarfs too and those are all have different pattern, so you will be confuse to choose because all of them are so gooood, hehe..

Range Price of Clothes

Man Rp 40.000 – Rp.900.000 // $4 – $90

Woman Rp. 50.000 – 200.000 // $5 – $20

Kids < Rp.100.000 // < $10

Scarfs (in the picture) all items Rp. 25.000 // $2,5 each

Bags < Rp.200.000 // < $20

ed

Well, are you curious with things I bought ? Hehehe.. So here they are, I bought batik-oversize cardigan and uniquely it is double side.. I can wear both side, so seems I bought 2 pieces of clothes, right? I can mix it with tank top and jeans.. It will look gorgeous :p

Another one is twisted-midi skirt .. To wear it, I have to twist the skirt first and tied the cord so function as well as belt 🙂 .. Anyway, I always love midi because my legs are both skinny and somehow this skirt makes me look a lil’ bit fat (good news!! hehe).. I paid some amount under Rp.200.000 ($20) for both of them.. Very cheap !!

baju

So, if you have a chance to go to Jogja, don’t forget to come to Terang Bulan Shop.. Buy lots of batik and have a good shopping experience there!! Because Batik is one of Indonesian identity, it made by good philosophy even each pattern has its meaning, contained by good prayer, hopes and stories.. 🙂

PS : Hopefully, more people will aware to distinguish the differences among batik types.. I mean, I wish you won’t buy the printing batik (made by machine which don’t use manual wax-resist dyeing technique) , since most of them are come from Ch*na and their quality always questionable.. Please buy either hand-drawn or stamped batik originated only from Indonesia, because you guys can help our batik artisan and it will definitely improve their life welfare.. Besides, you participate in preserving our heritage, Batik.. Bravo Batik Indonesia 😀

“I sound like a needle stuck in the groove of a record, but it’s so important to do this. People won’t realize until it’s too late, when they ask, *Oh did we have those things?’ We cannot move forward without preserving our past.” ~ Iwan Tirta (Indonesia Batik Maestro)

Love,

D4779E20035572AC7E2816A17121536E2

Author:

I do recycling, sewing, crafting – those are my passions that being destructed by office hours.. I’m ordinary but most time being distinguish and minority.. I don’t mind for being and looking ugly.. Because everybody’s ugly, they just pretend not to look ugly.. I watch people, their shoes and bags, sometimes I judge inwardly.. I’m little bit straight forward and I am not sorry for being straight forward.. I hear a lot.. I write words, my handwriting is adored by some friends.. I love taking pictures.. I prefer shoot than being shot, anyway.. Travelling sometimes, “mountains better than beaches” lately.. Be very fond of with smell of genuine leather, some vintage, rustic and traditional things..

3 thoughts on “Shopping Experiences at Yogyakarta-Indonesia

Leave a Reply

